Problem copying files to Bubba

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
pa
Posts: 308
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 04:38
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by pa » 03 Dec 2008, 02:19

Sorry, been unavailble for a while.

When you copy files to/from Bubba is that also slow or just when you are accessing the internet?
I was reading your previos posts and got a bit confused.

/PA

Hammer2
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Oct 2008, 03:18

Post by Hammer2 » 03 Dec 2008, 02:39

Well, file copy to and from the B2 is not fast either, somewhat like the B1.

This new problem I have been trying to get help on is that the B2 limits downstream internet traffic to less than 10% of actual bandwidth for the NATed computers on my LAN.

Internet --> BBB modem --> B2 seems fine according to your pdf test

Internet --> BBB modem --> B2 --> computers on NATed LAN: 10% of bandwidth

Internet --> BBB modem --> non-NATed computer: 100% speed

* BBB=Bredbandsbolaget

Clear or?

Cheers,
Hammer

pa
Posts: 308
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 04:38
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by pa » 03 Dec 2008, 02:56

Can you start a large download through Bubba and then on Bubba run the command "top".

This will show if Bubba is loaded with some other tasks at the same time that could limit your bandwidth.

/PA

Hammer2
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Oct 2008, 03:18

Post by Hammer2 » 03 Dec 2008, 03:02

Thanks for your reply.

Carl has an account on my B2, perhaps more effective use of your time if you borrowed it and did tests?

I'm not very good with the command line interface.

Cheers,
Hammer

pa
Posts: 308
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 04:38
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by pa » 03 Dec 2008, 03:22

yes and no,

We need you to have a download running from your LAN at the same time in order to see what is going on.

/PA

Hammer2
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Oct 2008, 03:18

Post by Hammer2 » 03 Dec 2008, 03:31

Ok, that I cannot do from work, I need to be home to have access to the LAN.

Is it something like this you need me to do?

1. Start an ftp transfer from B2 command line (SUNET Linux image or something like that). (Help with command would be great.)

2. Upload to B2 from LAN computer, equally large file. Samba. (FTP to B2 has always been unusably slow.)

pa
Posts: 308
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 04:38
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by pa » 03 Dec 2008, 03:47

Hi,

This is what I want:

* From a computer on the LAN, start a large download, ie http://ftp.sunet.se/pub/os/Linux/distri ... p-i386.iso

* Log in to Bubba and run the command "top" as root.

Post the output from the top command.

Top will show the active processes on Bubba and how much CPU usage they take. So this will show us if it is Bubbas CPU that is limiting your transfer, and if so, what process is taking all the CPU time.

/PA

Hammer
Posts: 124
Joined: 02 Oct 2007, 13:37

Post by Hammer » 04 Dec 2008, 13:01

Trying to log in with FTP, it freezes for a minute or two, fetching PORT command.

In the meantime, this is what TOP says:

2174 root 20 0 374m 35m 9232 S 16.4 14.0 2438:04 ftd.bin
7456 root 20 0 49004 6572 4120 S 2.6 2.6 1:04.94 php5-cgi
7457 root 20 0 49004 6468 3976 S 2.0 2.5 1:05.14 php5-cgi
7649 root 20 0 2976 1256 996 R 1.3 0.5 0:00.84 top
2072 mysql 20 0 126m 45m 5748 S 0.7 18.0 44:39.15 mysqld
1 root 20 0 2436 760 660 S 0.0 0.3 0:21.00 init
2 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
3 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:43.90 ksoftirqd/0
4 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 1:43.04 events/0
5 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.08 khelper


So, after two minutes the FTP session shows my home directory, empty.
But now I started the image download from sunet.
Top now shows this while downloading;


2174 root 20 0 374m 35m 9232 S 21.3 14.0 2438:34 ftd.bin
7456 root 20 0 49004 6572 4120 S 2.0 2.6 1:07.48 php5-cgi
7659 root 20 0 2976 1256 996 R 2.0 0.5 0:00.32 top
4765 www-data 20 0 56664 5552 2148 S 0.7 2.2 0:15.94 apache2
1 root 20 0 2436 760 660 S 0.0 0.3 0:21.00 init
2 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 kthreadd
3 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:43.90 ksoftirqd/0
4 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 1:43.06 events/0
5 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.08 khelper
52 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:42.34 kblockd/0
59 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 ata/0
60 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 ata_aux
68 root 15 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 khubd

pa
Posts: 308
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 04:38
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by pa » 08 Dec 2008, 07:57

Hi,

I got Carls login and took a look around, but found nothing odd, and can not by just accessing your Bubba see the low transferspeeds.

Are you running windows XP on your other computers?
Can you provide us with the network settings from a "slow" computer?

From the commandline on windows XP (Start->run->cmd) type "ipconfig /all".

This will list most of your network settings, there must be something that is odd in your network setup together with Bubba Two since I can not reproduce the slow speeds on Bubba alone.

/PA

Hammer
Posts: 124
Joined: 02 Oct 2007, 13:37

Post by Hammer » 15 Dec 2008, 09:32

Bypassed the switch and hooked up my vista64 pc directly to the Bubba's LAN port.

Did TPTEST and got
Up: 1.00 Mbps
Down: 0.49 Mpbs


IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : X2
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : localdomain

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : localdomain
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168B/8111B Family PCI-E Gi
it Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4D-5A-C3-46
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f03f:430f:3a5a:1410%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.98(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : den 15 december 2008 15:01:54
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : den 16 december 2008 03:01:53
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.10.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : localdomain
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Top on Bubba showed:
ftd.bin with cpu peaks around 50%, mem 20%. (New adds to downloads) stabilized around cpu 21% / mem 17%
php5-cgi peaked at 75% for a short bit and then disappeared from top.
mysql: no cpu but 20% mem.

Unplugged from B2 and moved to incoming modem.
TPTEST again:
Up: 1.60 Mbps
Down: 15.48 Mpbs
Nothing special on Top.

Something is DEFINITELY wrong with the B2.
Mysql can't be restarted, gallery disappeared after install and initial album uploads.
Should I reinstall with a new image, and if so what happens to all my data?

Cheers,
Hammer

Post Reply