how to restore a backup?

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
Post Reply
zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

how to restore a backup?

Post by zander » 05 May 2013, 14:07

hi,

i am new to backups. i have a backup disk that has the directories on it that i wanted to backup however there is nothing in the directories. when i setup the backup i specified a password to encrypt them.

i used the web gui to create the backups.

shouldn't i at least see some kind of file in the directories in the backup locations?

please advise.
~alonzo...

86ivar
Posts: 148
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 11:08

Re: how to restore a backup?

Post by 86ivar » 06 May 2013, 11:56

Got the same problem with my b2, it does not copy files or it makes some strange "difftar" .tar files. Last time my backup was working, it copied the files directly. No zip etc.
Do you got b2 or b3? I think i will do a reinstall. But would be nice to know if the drifttar files are normal or not, so I dont reinstall for nothing.

86ivar
Posts: 148
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 11:08

Re: how to restore a backup?

Post by 86ivar » 10 May 2013, 10:08

I reinstalled my unit and now backup is working. You will have to use the web interface to restore the backup under timeline you can restore the backups (saved as difftar files). I guess if my bubba gets totally toasted i will have to use somekind of program to restore the backup files.

jesperw
Posts: 21
Joined: 23 Jul 2007, 07:08

Re: how to restore a backup?

Post by jesperw » 12 May 2013, 13:07

All backups ended up on my system volume, so I am awaiting next software update until I start playing with Bubbas built in backup.
It is nice to be important, but more important to be nice.

Post Reply