B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
Post Reply
Puma
Posts: 230
Joined: 29 Sep 2008, 06:30

B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by Puma » 17 Oct 2010, 06:46

Hello,

Next week I get my bubba 3.
Now I'm thinking of the best way to get my old data on the new one.

I now have B2 with RAID 1

1. Can I unpack in install my B3 and when done connect my RAID1 ( bubba storage) and recover to get my data on the B3??

2. Should I copy or backup my data to external disk and after install b3 copy it back?

3. How will the user folders react?

4. Can I just copy the Horde data back?


Thanks

Puma
Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside!

pcrene
Posts: 305
Joined: 17 May 2008, 15:49

Re: B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by pcrene » 17 Oct 2010, 12:45

Hello Puma,

I asked the same question...

Would could work:
- do the backup of the B2 and do a restore on the B3 (all users should be there)
- then a "repair"using the raid disk.

Reaction of PA Nilsson
* To restore data, you should be able to connect the external RAID disk
to B3 and choose to recover data. However it is not tested to use a disk
from B2 but I do not see a reason for why it should not work.
* On B2, as root make a copy of the files "/etc/passwd" and "/etc/shadow"
* Copy the file to B3 to a temporary directory
* On B3, as root, manually edit the /etc/passwd and shadow files adding
the lines with the users, starting below the "admin"-user.
* If you have accounts that fetch mail, also copy the file
/etc/fetchmailrc from B2 to B3

He wanted to make a Wiki out of this..

Rene
B3 1T + B-Stor 2T, B2 1T as backup
40 users active....
Opensat4all.Com

jallee
Posts: 49
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 13:15

Re: B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by jallee » 18 Oct 2010, 14:26

You can also do like this..
1.Start up B3 and set up users an who ho can use ssh and change the admin pw, you could also shut down all unnecessary services to speed up the process.
2.SSH in to B3

Code: Select all

ssh username@ip_nr_off_bubba
3.Su to root so you can install mc and screen.

Code: Select all

su
Default password is excito.
Update apt-get

Code: Select all

apt-get update
Install Screen http://www.neophob.com/2007/04/gnu-screen-cheat-sheet and Mc http://www.scribd.com/doc/19113288/Midn ... nder-Guide

Code: Select all

apt-get install screen mc
Exit su

Code: Select all

exit
Start screen so you can leave the session alive.

Code: Select all

screen
Start mc.

Code: Select all

mc
Now the fun starts..
If you have used Norton comander you should do all right.
Use F9 and the arrow and go to where it says left, then go down tho where it stand FTP and press enter.
Then write in the username, pasword and ip nr to the B2

Code: Select all

/#ftp:username:pasword@ip_nr_off_b2
If ftp is enabled on the B2 you are all set to start copy files whit F5.
OK you have now started copy 200 gigs of data an want to do some thing else.
Then just press CTRL a d to detach the screen.
If you want to check on how it doing, just reattach it whit.

Code: Select all

screen -r
// Jalle

yooakim
Posts: 43
Joined: 08 May 2007, 08:58

Re: B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by yooakim » 19 Oct 2010, 12:14

Thanks, great post!

I'm a long time fan of Norton Commander, I have dabbed with Midnight Commander... but for some reason I had forgotten all about the FTP support within MC.

Great way to selectively copy what you want between BUBBAs :-)

yooakim
Posts: 43
Joined: 08 May 2007, 08:58

MC display graphics

Post by yooakim » 19 Oct 2010, 12:59

Back again... I did manage to copy everyting fine with MC to my new B3 :-) Thanks.

But what is the recommended way to make MC display it's graphics nicely on the B3/Debian system?

I am using PuTTY to login to my B3 and when I run MC it works fine but the character grahphics are not looking too good. I've tried to change the display using the MC Options menu but it doesn't seem to work.

Any tips for how to make it look nice as well?

jallee
Posts: 49
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 13:15

Re: MC display graphics

Post by jallee » 19 Oct 2010, 13:09

yooakim wrote:Back again... I did manage to copy everyting fine with MC to my new B3 :-) Thanks.

But what is the recommended way to make MC display it's graphics nicely on the B3/Debian system?

I am using PuTTY to login to my B3 and when I run MC it works fine but the character grahphics are not looking too good. I've tried to change the display using the MC Options menu but it doesn't seem to work.

Any tips for how to make it look nice as well?
I am a Linux user so cant help you whit that grahpics, sorry..
But i happy that all copying went well. :D

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by Ubi » 19 Oct 2010, 16:18

the graphics in MC is a common issue with puTTY users.
Entering the following sometimes works...

Code: Select all

export LANG=C
Also, change the windows translation option in puTTY towards OR away from UTF8 (I use SO-8859-1 (Latin-1)). See what works best for you.

But to get back to the original topic: Why do you not use Rsync to copy data. It is meant for the job, it's secure, you can pause and restart, it has all the options for preserving file attributes you ever heard of and it's rather easy to use.

Don't use FTP for these things. There are alternatives!

Ubi

jallee
Posts: 49
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 13:15

Re: B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by jallee » 20 Oct 2010, 01:48

Ubi wrote:But to get back to the original topic: Why do you not use Rsync to copy data. It is meant for the job, it's secure, you can pause and restart, it has all the options for preserving file attributes you ever heard of and it's rather easy to use.

Don't use FTP for these things. There are alternatives!

Ubi
You are so right!
But ftp is fast.. and in my case it is just some movie and music .. :)

Jallee

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B2 => B3 best (safest) way to copy data

Post by Ubi » 20 Oct 2010, 04:02

fair enough :)

Post Reply